One Month Out

Well, here we are, one month until our race. A month used to feel like such a long time but now that we are quickly falling below the 4 week mark and the race literally feels like it’s around the corner.

Thinking about this stirs up differing amounts of emotions. Most of me is really, really excited. This race has been something we have been training for since September… SEPTEMBER. The other part of me is completely terrified… what if the race ends up being a total bust?! We have worked so hard…. since September!

This week was a really good week workout/run wise. I really love saying that! I so vividly remember when weeks were painfully difficult and I never imaged myself consistently running for hours at a time without feeling like it was next to impossible.

Sunday: Track Repeats and the Reality of Bathroom Issues.

20190106_215038404_iosNow that our long runs are looooooong, it is funny to me that our track repeat days (speed workout days) are the day after. What better way to get your legs moving, than to actually get your legs moving?!

This Sundays workout consisted of 3×1600 (4 laps) with 400 RI. The sun was shining and the air was warmer, so both Justin and I were completely ready to tackle this workout head on.

Hannah: Goal times 8:00 – 8:35
– Mile 1: 8:15
– Mile 2: 8:18

Justin: Goal times: 6:59 – 7:18
– Mile 1: 6:57
– Mile 2: 6:58

Unfortunately, we were only able to complete 2 out of the 3 repeats due to a sudden stomach issue.

Without getting TMI, let me just mention the crazy honest reality that is running and having to use the bathroom. IT’S A THING!

There are so many articles out there from runners who have written about their horror stories with races and bathroom issues (read at your own risk). There are even more articles out there that talk about common theories of causes to this and what you can do to help prevent it. No matter what you do, sometimes it’s just your body and you can’t help it.

To summarize what both Justin and I have understood, movement gets the digestive system moving. There are a lot of factors that could contribute to this phenomenon (diet, health history, stress, etc…) but a big one doctors suggest  deals with the distribution of hormones and blood in the body. From my understanding, when you run, hormones can increase in your stomach lining which can cause the urge to use the restroom. Another common cause is when you run, blood flow increases to your muscles to help to oxygenate them (makes sense). However, when there is an increase of blood flow to your muscles, there is a decrease of blood flow to your intestines which can cause inflammation and the sudden threat of having to use the bathroom.

As terrifying as this sounds, it completely contests to the reason as to why there are restrooms readily available for runners at races, next time you’re at a race, take notice.

There isn’t a “cure all” to prevent bathroom issues, but there are some things that you can do to help alleviate the likelihood. Read articles (reliable sources), ask doctors, and test your body. See what works best for you.

Here are a few things we found works for us: 

  1. HYDRATE
    1. Water is the breath of life to any run. Your body functions properly when it is hydrated. Justin and I drink water as well as some form of electrolyte before and during our runs. The sugary electrolyte drinks such as Gatorade and Powerade can make our stomachs hurt so we’d maybe suggest looking at trying an electrolyte tablet instead, if you have similar experiences. This is one we use. 
  2. WATCH WHAT YOU EAT

    1. This is a big one for us and a very individualized. Justin and I prefer morning runs, when we don’t have any food in our system other than what we have eaten the night before. I know people who will eat a bagel, oatmeal, and drink a cup of coffee before a run. Yeah, that would probably do both Justin and myself in before we even got started. The night before a big run, we always try to eat a good helping of simple carbs such as white flour pastas and breads. Whole wheat is a favorite but can be harder to digest. We also like to add simple proteins such as grilled chicken and avoid foods containing high amounts of fiber such as fruits (for obvious reasons). This article (linked) has some good suggestions as to what fuel sources are best used depending on the type of run you’re about to go on. Again, this is very individualized. Do research and test different things, you never know what may work best.
  3. MAKE SURE BATHROOMS ARE AVAILABLE ON YOUR ROUTE!

    1. No matter what, Justin and I always map out our run to ensure that a bathroom is available somewhere along our route. Most of the time we don’t have to use it but knowing that one is nearby provides a complete ease of mind, just in case.
  4. RELAX
    1. The fear of having to use the bathroom, mid run, is actually very terrifying and stressful. What if nothing is around? What if I don’t make it? What if I can’t finish the race? Stressful! Stress can do a lot to your body. If you struggle with GI issues, stress can exacerbate it.  If you are a long term runner, you probably have a crazy bathroom story. It happens. Regardless, just know that in the worst of cases, you can always stop. I read a story about a very avid runner who had been training for weeks to PR in a big marathon. The day of the race arrived and this individual (as prepared and experienced as he was) had major stomach issues and had to stop 6 times… 6! Needless to say, he didn’t make his PR goal and was just happy to finish. As frustrating as that may have been, this runner ran another race a few months later and completely demolished his original goal. Things happen, even to those awesome and experienced pros. It’s okay! Running is fun. Races are fun. There are good days and bad days. Celebrate the good days and give yourself grace over the bad ones.
  5. BECOME ONE WITH YOUR BODY

    1. Learn your what works for you! Although Justin and I take similar precautions before running, we are both incredibly different and can handle different things. Take note of what works or what does not work for you. One of the best things you can do is add some predictability. Get yourself on a routine by timing your meals and digestion and or waking up a certain amount of time before a race/run. Maintaining a good diet, taking good vitamins/supplements/pro-biotics can help add some consistency to your body’s routine. Become familiar to how your body functions the best and run with it (pun intended).

With all of this being said. I am, obviously, not a doctor (surprise, lol). Always consult your doctor or even a nutritionist if you have any questions or if your bathroom issues are more frequent than what you may think is normal. Doctors are wonderful and can help answer questions and or figure out what may be going on, if there are any underlying issues. Nutritionist can help provide education about the best kinds of foods and diets to be on. Learning and understanding are the best ways to help prevent issues moving forward.

So with all that to be said, tummy issues won out with our Sunday track repeat. We were able to get two solid miles in and then made our way home.

Monday: Cross Training Workout That Would NOT End.

Monday panned out to be a better day for our training workouts. Not feeling the best, I ended up taking a personal day from work. I am not the one to miss work unless I am on the floor sick. However, I am learning how important it is to not only maintain physical health but also mental and emotional health. This Monday, I just needed a break, so, I took one.

20190107_232300046_ios

It was nice to have an extra day at home. Justin and I ran a few errands and even made our way to Academy to buy a new fun thing!

We have a big clunky foam roller that we like to use to help recover our muscles after our runs. However, we felt that a few hard to reach muscles were not getting the proper TLC. We ended up purchasing the TriggerPoint Contour roller. This thing is AWESOME! We literally had no idea what our muscles were missing when it came to recovery and this roller. Unlike our bulky foam roller, the contour roller actually has some give to it that allows the roller to somewhat bend around your muscles. The small individual rollers (as seen above) also allow you to provide specific and deep pressure to help loosen knots.

Eventually, we made our way to the Rec to get our row on. I don’t know if it was because it had been a hot minute since our last row or what, but this workout was tough!

Cross Training: Rowing
– 5 minutes easy pace
– 10 minutes tempo pace
– 5 minutes easy pace
– 10 minutes tempo pace
– 5 minutes easy pace

This rowing workout was long and my whole body felt well worked afterward so our new roller was much appreciated. Good timing to us!

Tuesday: Rest

Tuesday was a hard day, period. I actually ended up staying home another day for some personal reasons. Justin is my encourager and support with running but even more so in life… well.. I suppose that’s a duh, he is my person. There are definitely moments where we both hold each other up equally and moments where the one picks the other up completely. Tuesday, Justin was my entire support.

Needless to say, we did not workout, and that was okay!

Wednesday: Half Day of Work, Half Way Through the Week Run

Aside from the two days I took off, I did have a half day planned for Wednesday so I could get my hair done, a day I always look forward too!

After my hair appointment was finished, I swung by campus to pick Justin up and we headed home to get ready for our afternoon run.

20190109_222145381_ios

Although the sun was shining, it was deceptively cold outside. Justin was set to run 6 easy miles so he got to run with me! I prefer to be a lone runner but I really enjoyed having his company this time! His presence actually really motivated me to keep a steady pace which ended up being a much faster pace than I usually run (9:20 per mile). Justin is a good running influence!

Thursday: Another Day of Rest

How sweet are these two babies?! (Presley- left and Oakley-right) I couldn’t resist!

20190107_010532593_ios

Friday: Crowded Gym Didn’t Scare Us Away

As we all know, with the start of the new year brings a larger number of people to the gyms. This is always expected and definitely celebrated. What better time to start a new hobby, sport, or goal than the beginning of a new year?!

20190112_000014701_iosI love seeing people out and about, especially when it comes to achieving new health goals. However, the introverted-keep-to-my-bubble-dont-like-crowds self got really stressed out with the amount of people that were at the gym come Friday afternoon.

Thankfully, Justin and I were able to find two rowing machines to complete our workout. Much to my surprise, the massive influx of people made for quite the entertainment. The rowing machines face outward which allowed for some good quality people watching. Usually, I try to zone out everyone in the gym when I’m there, but this afternoon was just too much to ignore.

The rowing workout was the same as Mondays which meant it was equally as difficult and taxing. The people watching helped to make time move a little quicker but that didn’t make the row progression any easier.

As I am happy for all those getting into the gym and working toward a healthier lifestyle, I do look forward to when the crowds lessen and things start getting back to normal.

Saturday: The Best Long Run Yet!

Justin and I signed up to run a 10k race in March. The organization helping to sponsor the race held a practice group run early this Saturday morning. Justin and I originally planned to join the group run buuuuuuut chickened out because of the weather (really cold and rainy).

20190112_195511000_ios

We may not have made it to the group run but that didn’t stop us from completing our long run a few hours later. The weather was terrible so the rec was our best option for this run. 10 miles for both Justin and myself. Wow, 10 miles, what a daunting number. At this point in our training, Justin has run this number of a miles a few times, however, this would be the longest set of consistent miles I’ve run in years (I believe since the last time I ran a half marathon in 2012). Running 10 miles outside lends itself to a large area of vast scenery, helping the time to pass by. Unfortunately, we were limited to two options, the treadmill or the indoor track, talk about boring.

I knew my body was well hydrated and fueled so this was a long run I really wanted to put all of my energy and focus into. Our race is coming quickly and we are taking advantage of every opportunity we have to practice. That being said, I forced myself to forgo the familiarity of the treadmill (although 10 miles on a treadmill sounds pretty dull) and run on the indoor track with Justin. Mentally, I really don’t like the indoor track. I don’t like running with other people and I feel like I have to prove myself.  I am also not a fan of the inclines in the track provides. Well, what better way to train for a race than 1. Run with other people who are running different paces, 2. Run a varying terrain (hills/flats) and 3. Work to keep my own pace and not rely on a machine?

I needed to run the track, it was the best prep for the race.

Not to my surprise, both Justin and I ran the first mile a minute and a half faster than our intended paces. Great, now we are both going to exhaust ourselves too quickly. About a half a mile into my second mile, I about threw in the towel and hopped onto a treadmill. The track was just NOT doing it for me. Mentally, I told myself to just keep pushing. One more lap turned into one more mile until I actually eventually felt myself relax and fall into a comfortable and steady groove.

30 laps later and I finished with an average overall pace of 8:59/mile. Y’all, that is 30 seconds faster than my intended goal pace for the half marathon! Words do not do justice to how thrilled I was at this time. Not only had I run the 10 miles, I had also kept up my pace, and got a good understanding of how I want to pace for the race. I took a screen shot of my mile times, each lap was a mile completion (aside from lap 5 and 8, which were pauses in the run).

A few Hannah thoughts from the 10 miler:

  • ENERGY GELS ARE LIFESAVERS

    • My body was hydrated but I could tell that my energy source was spent by mile 7 or 8. I eat energy gels before a long run and then every 45 minutes during afterward. Taking these gels are what saved my run this Saturday when I started feeling drained. I like the GU gels, you can get them for a few dollars at Academy.
  • MENTALITY WAS THE HARDEST PART

    • For me, I discovered that hardest part about running the indoor track is the mental aspect. I struggled with the overall complexity that is running 10 miles on a repetitive course and comparison of running alongside others. Once I felt myself ease into a groove, I found myself focusing my brain power more on my run than on the mental struggles I had in the first place.
  • WATER ALWAYS

    • Water was another life saver for me. I had two water bottles with me and to my surprise, I just about went through both. I knew I would need water throughout the run but did not anticipate to go through as much as I did. Just because it’s inside doesn’t mean your body isn’t working hard!
  • THANKFUL FOR OVER-PREPAREDNESS

    • The amount of stuff I had in my gym bag was somewhat comical. I brought a towel (which I used), my Oofos (best recovery shoes EVER), Our foam rollers and balls (all of them), Energy gels (my lifesavers), chapstick (my must have), and nutbutter! Nutbutter, what is that? More than a silly name, Nutbutter is actually awesome anti-chaffing/ anti-blister salve. Blisters are something I actually have struggled with and, depending on the socks I wear, still struggle with. After about 8 miles into the run, I felt a blister forming (Joys). I was able to stop and apply some of the salve which definitely saved my toe. Bring everything for these long runs, you literally never know what you may need!
  • ONE LAP AT A TIME

    • I think one of the most daunting parts of the long run is how long the run actually is, especially in a confined and repetitive space. I remember my dad telling me that he decided to run on the track one day to see how long he could. I believe he said he ran something like 60 laps. For the longest time, completely blew my mind (especially since this was before running with portable music was a thing!) After completing this run, I now have a better understanding for how this may have been done. The biggest help, at least with me, was breaking it down by lap and mile. I took each lap one mile at a time and before I knew it, I was more than half way through. 3 laps on this track is 1 mile, so for 10 miles that would be 30 laps, that’s a lot. Taking it one lap and one mile at a time helped to relieve the pressure of running 30 times around and just allowed myself the ability to ease into the run. I had a few really good miles and a few really slow miles. At the end of the run, it all evened out to be a better run than I could have imaged.

Justin (oh yeah, that guy) ended up running 9 miles at his half marathon pace averaging at 7:57/ mile (beast) and cooled off with a one mile cool down (10:12) bringing his total to 10 miles.

Shout out to the fact that neither Justin nor myself lost count of the laps! 

After our run, Justin and I spent a good 45 minutes to an hour stretching and rolling out our muscles.

Run hard, recover harder!

20190112_203210991_ios

This was a really good week of running. Although mentally a few workouts were intimidating, all of the runs went very well. Paces have started to become more natural making these runs more consistent, fun and something I look forward too!

We are making progress, that’s for sure. It’s really cool to see the hard work actually paying off. I am very proud of both Justin and myself and starting to gain confidence that his half marathon is actually very doable.

We have 3 weeks left until race. These weeks will be filled with some good long runs and very mindful recoveries. We got this!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 thought on “One Month Out”

Leave a comment