Birmingham Wine 10K

You know what’s crazy? Signing up for a race three weeks after a big monster race.

You know what’s fun? Running a race three weeks after a big monster race.

 

raceBanner-dDHhWJLJ-bCaccC

The weeks following our half marathon were pretty pitiful, I have to admit. Justin and I intentionally took the immediate week after our race to rest and recover our bodies. The weeks following that, unintentional breaks. I’m not sure if it was the toll of the race or the fact that I work at a University (germ breeding ground), but the next week I was hit hard with some intense flu like virus.

I usually get over sickness pretty quickly but this one put up a pretty tough fight and took me down hard. I was out of work for a week and had lingering symptoms for weeks there-after, even after finally taking my stubborn self to see a doctor.

I knew that this meant I’d be sub-par for our next race (golf term in the midst of a racing story).

This 10K race was one that Justin and I signed up for, for fun. We knew a few people 20190302_131901358_iOS - Copyinvolved with the set up of this race and thought it’d be a really fun opportunity and race to run. We didn’t have many expectations going into the race and i’m so glad we approached the event the way we did because the day was just laughable.

Consistent with how I was feeling in the previous weeks, I woke up feeling totally less than and strongly considered not running. Thankfully, Justin woke up feeling great! It was cold and cloudy the morning of the race however, the meteorologists predicted only small chances for rain for the area (can’t be trusted).

For this race, we were to park at the finish and catch a shuttle to the starting line.

20190302_132454456_ios-copy.jpgWe made great time and hopped onto the next shuttle. By this point, I was feeling better and decided to give this race a shot. I told myself that if I had to stop or walk, to give myself grace and do it. There’s no use in stressing my body out for a fun race only to make myself worse.

20190302_135126916_iOS - CopyThere were a lot of people at this race, of all race calibers, which actually made it really exciting. I loved getting run in a race with some pretty phenomenal elites and getting to run with people a little more speed.

Justin and I did a few minutes of jogging, to warm up, and quickly found a spot toward the front of the corral (no more getting stuck in the back for us). The gun went off and we were soon to follow.

The route of this race was great,  I really enjoyed it. The route was considerably “flat”, for Birmingham standards and had a great scenic path. We ran through some neighborhoods and eventually made our way to really pretty park across from Samford University. The temps were a little chilly but felt good as we started running. Everything would have been ideal except for the torrential downpour that happened around mile 2.

I remember feeling a few rain drops and thinking “oh no.” My “oh no” quickly turned into a really?!” as the rain went from a few droplets to blinding freezing cold down pour. Justin told me that he remembered thinking how miserable I must have been once the rain started. I remember thinking, “aw man, Justin didn’t wear hit hat.” I couldn’t help but laugh and then say a prayer that this rain didn’t make my fragile health any worse.

There is something that is so unifyingly (is that a word?) miserably inspiring about running a race in a really cold down pour. Knowing that this really does stink but you’re in the midst of the run and aren’t going to stop and there are hundreds of others doing the same thing with you! You just have to laugh and embrace the moment. I had an extra laugh because about a mile after the rain started, I remembered that I had put in extra effort to actually apply mascara in order to help brighten my sleepy face! I NEVER WEAR MAKE UP WHEN I RUN!!!! The day I decide to? RAIN. Definitely sitcom worthy.

20190304_145958015_iOS

20190304_145545649_iOS
Fake it til you make it, right?

When it rains, it pours… literally!!

The rain lasted for a good portion of the run but eventually let up (Praise) only to leave a  very muddy trail for the remainder of the run.

20190302_150730611_iOSFor me, the first 5 miles felt pretty good. I felt strong and actually had a pretty quick pace of 8:30 (shocking, considering). Unfortunately, my cold/congestion problems started rearing its head at the start of the last mile. I was really frustrated but I had to stop and catch my breath and cough. I hate stopping within the last mile, because at that point the finish is just around the corner.However, this was one of those moments where I knew there were no questions about me stopping, I had too. I finished with a massive amount of knots in my hair and a total time of 56:13 with a pace average of 9:03. Definitely okay with that (the time not the hair thing. yikes).

Despite my struggle run. Justin ended up running a really good and solid race at his 20190302_145925785_iOSalmost normal pace! This was so big for Justin as he has been dealing with soreness with his IT band. He was forced to slow down during our half marathon, so I was more than thrilled that he was able to run harder (although he probably still held back) than with the half. Justin finished at 48:04 with a 7:44 average pace.

To make this race even more fun, Justin’s cousin’s had traveled from Mobile to run, so we got to see and hang out with them. Families who run together!

Despite the sickness and cold rain, this race was a blast! I really enjoyed the set up and the race course, overall. I think both Justin and I have decided to run it again next year, hopefully with a little bit nicer weather and better health conditions.

As of right now, we don’t have any immediate races in our future and I think that’s okay. We really enjoy the challenge and ability to test our training but we also enjoy taking steps back to just run for fun. Who knows, maybe we will find a fun pop up race to join in the coming months. Keep us on our toes.

20190302_153154561_iOS - Copy

20190305_152510911_iOS
Could he be any more photogenic?!?
20190303_223037090_iOS
Runner’s version of Where’s Waldo? Where’s Hannah and Justin?
20190305_000204457_iOS
We do it for the bling

Leave a comment